~
Logo National Bestselling Authors

Joyce and Jim Lavene

Join us at Facebook

all the cool aliens and monsters are at the independent bookstore!
 

Series

Writing as Joyce and Jim Lavene

Christmas Tree Valley Mysteries

Pumpkin Patch Mysteries

Purple Door Detective Agency

Taxi for The Dead Paranormal Mysteries

Retired Witches Mysteries

Missing Pieces Mysteries

Renaissance Faire Mysteries

Peggy Lee Garden Mysteries

Sharyn Howard Mysteries

 

Writing as J.J. Cook

Sweet Pepper Fire Brigade Mysteries

Biscuit Bowl Food Truck Mysteries

Writing as Ellie Grant

Pie in the Sky Mysteries

Our Romances

Our mini-books

Printable Book List

Excerpt Page

Bio

Schedule

Our Links 

 Jim's Facebook Page

Joyce and Jim's Facebook page

Our Amazon AuthorCentral Page

Joyce's Twitter

Friends' Links

 Our independent editor

~ Jeni Chappelle

Our book tour partner

~ Escape with Dollycas

Paranormal book promotions

~ Bitten by Books

cover for Sweet Pepper Hero

Sweet Pepper Hero

 

Old rivalries heat up in the fourth Sweet Pepper Fire Brigade mystery from the national bestselling author of In Hot Water.

Fire chief Stella Griffin has been put in charge of judging the annual recipe contest, but Eric—her resident ghost and true culinary genius—has vanished. Before she can track down his latest haunt, she’s called in to investigate a local moonshine distillery that was set ablaze, making her realize there’s more than pies and cakes cooking in Sweet Pepper. 

As rumors of a revived whiskey war ignite, Stella turns to the town’s elders to help her find answers. The past might have some clues as to what has sparked the present fires. But when following a lead lands her in buried rubble, Stella realizes she must extinguish this case fast or she might be going down in flames.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for the Sweet Pepper Fire Brigade mysteries
 
“A sizzling-good mystery series.”—Lesa’s Book Critiques
 
“A well-crafted mystery that will keep you guessing until the smoke clears.”—Kari Lee Townsend, national bestselling author of the Fortune Teller Mysteries
 
“A lot of fun...[Sweet Pepper] is a place you’d like to visit.”—Kings River Life Magazine
 
“Dark family secrets, a delicious mystery—and a ghost! What reader could ask for more?”—Casey Daniels, author of the Pepper Martin Mysteries

 

Cover for Gone by Midnight and other stories

Gone by Midnight

Fans of Joyce and Jim Lavene will thrill at this collection of thirteen short stories—many are set in the worlds of their national bestselling mystery series, including the Missing Pieces Mysteries, the Renaissance Faire Mysteries, the Retired Witches Mysteries, and an upcoming mystery novel!

These stories contain the elements of mystery and fantasy the Lavenes are famous for, as well as some new things their readers have never seen. Several stories feature characters interacting with ghosts, magic, and the supernatural—the healing woman in “Courtship;” the Civil War widow in “One with the Darkness;” the city girl who summons a wizard from the past in “The Magician and the Sorceress/Accountant;” and the young introvert in “Aunt Edna” who finds her calling with help from a ghostly visitor.

Poignant, charming, and captivating, Joyce and Jim Lavene bring their characteristic wit and heart to these stories and introduce each one with a passage about its origin or how it ties into the universe they’ve created. Gone by Midnight is a treasury of tales that will delight the mind and touch the heart from one of the most prolific writing duos of our time.